Menu Close
Johanna Laub
Doctoral candidate, second cohort (2020-2023)

Fragments of History: Tracing the Past in Contemporary Moving Image Art

The dissertation project focuses on contemporary moving image art that, in drawing on the traces and testimonies of the past, aims at a reworking of history. This artistic approach has frequently been conceptualized as a form of archaeology or archival practice: as an unearthing of historical sediments in the sense of a topical, often critical examination of cultural memory. In this context, moving images in their diverse, even hybrid formats—from cinematographic installations to slide projections or audiovisual performances—offer relevant perspectives for our understanding of the past, its accessibility and negotiability.

Within the discourse of a contemporary art concerned with history and memory, the project seeks to elaborate on how artists working with moving images deal with the epistemological and ethical aspects that are involved in the handling of historical and archival material. Which methods and aesthetics do they develop? And how can their access to the past be grasped in terms of its historiographical-philosophical nature? The project proceeds not only hermeneutically but also conceives moving images in contemporary art as part of an exhibition dispositif which should be included in the analysis.

Fig. 1:
Anri Sala, Intervista (Finding the Words), 1998, reproduction in exhibition catalogue Archive Fever: Uses of the Document in Contemporary Art, International Center of Photography, New York, 2008, pp. 166-167.
Fig. 2:
Ana Torfs, Anatomy, 2006, part of the exhibition The Way of the Shovel: Art as Archaeology, Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, 2014 (screenshot), MCA, last accessed August 14, 2020.
Fig. 3:
Filipa César presenting her project Luta ca caba inda (The struggle is not over yet) at Jeu de Paume, Paris, 2012 (screenshot), YouTube, last accessed August 14, 2020.

Profile

Johanna Laub is a PhD candidate in the Graduiertenkolleg “Configurations of Film” at the Goethe University Frankfurt. After her bachelor and master studies in art history at the University of Leipzig and Université de Tours, she was employed as curatorial assistant at Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt. There she worked on exhibitions of modern and contemporary art as well as the film and video program “Double Feature.” Her research area lies in the art of the late 20th century and contemporary art; she is especially interested in artists’ relation to history and anthropology.

 

laub[at]tfm.uni-frankfurt.de

Members

Menü Schließen
Johanna Laub
Doktorand_In, zweite Kohorte (2020-2023)

Geschichtsfragmente. Spuren der Vergangenheit in Bewegtbildern der Gegenwartskunst

Das Dissertationsprojekt beschäftigt sich mit Bewegtbildern der Gegenwartskunst, in denen anhand der Spuren und Zeugnisse der Vergangenheit eine Auf- und Umarbeitung von Geschichte unternommen wird. Diese künstlerische Herangehensweise ist häufig als eine Form der Archäologie oder Archivpraxis konzeptualisiert worden: als ein Freilegen und Durcharbeiten historischer Schichten im Sinne einer gegenwartsbezogenen, oftmals kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit dem kulturellen Gedächtnis. Bewegtbilder in ihren diversen, teils hybriden Formaten – von kinematographischen Installationen über Diaprojektionen bis hin zu audiovisuellen Performances – halten dabei relevante Perspektiven für unser Verständnis von der Zugänglichkeit und Verhandelbarkeit von Vergangenheit bereit.

Innerhalb des Diskurses einer geschichts- und gedächtnisbewussten Gegenwartskunst möchte das Projekt erarbeiten, wie Künstler_innen in Bewegtbildern mit den epistemologischen und ethischen Aspekten verfahren, die die Arbeit mit historischen und archivarischen Materialien bedingen. Welche Methoden und welche Ästhetik entwickeln sie? Und wie lässt sich ihr Zugriff auf die Vergangenheit hinsichtlich seiner historiografischen und geschichtsphilosophischen Natur beschreiben? Das Projekt verfährt dabei nicht nur hermeneutisch, sondern erfasst Bewegtbilder der Gegenwartskunst auch als Teil eines Ausstellungsdispositivs, das in die Untersuchung einbezogen werden sollte.

Fig. 1:
Anri Sala, Intervista (Finding the Words), 1998, reproduziert im Ausstellungskatalog Archive Fever: Uses of the Document in Contemporary Art, International Center of Photography, New York, 2008, S. 166f.
Fig. 2:
Ana Torfs, Anatomy, 2006, Teil der Ausstellung The Way of the Shovel: Art as Archaeology, Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, 2014 (Screenshot), MCA, zuletzt aufgerufen am 14. August 2020.
Fig. 3:
Filipa César präsentiert ihr Projekt Luta ca caba inda (Der Kampf ist noch nicht vorbei) im Jeu de Paume, Paris, 2012 (Screenshot), YouTube, zuletzt aufgerufen am 14. August 2020.

Profil

Johanna Laub ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin des Graduiertenkollegs „Konfigurationen des Films“ an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt. Sie studierte Kunstgeschichte im Bachelor und Master an der Universität Leipzig und der Université de Tours. Im Anschluss war sie als kuratorische Assistenz an der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt tätig, wo sie an Ausstellungen moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst sowie am Film- und Videoprogramm „Double Feature“ mitarbeitete. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in der Kunst des späten 20. Jahrhunderts und der Gegenwartskunst; dabei interessiert sie sich besonders für das künstlerische Verhältnis zu Geschichte und Anthropologie.

 

laub[at]tfm.uni-frankfurt.de

Mitglieder