Menu Close
Marie Sophie Beckmann
Doctoral candidate, first cohort (2017-2020)

Spilling: The Stains of the Cinema of Transgression

I deal with a corpus of Super 8 and 16mm productions stemming from the interdisciplinary and collaborative New York art and film scene of the 1980s, which have become known under the label Cinema of Transgression. Although museums, institutions, and archives have now found interest in this corpus, an academic discussion, and critical reflection has not yet taken place. What is instead reproduced in art and film discourses is the narrative of a subversive film movement, whose often sexually explicit content and “cheap” productions defy any aesthetic and moral boundaries.

The initial question of my work was how this narrative can be reinterpreted when the focus is shifted to the conditions of production, exhibition, and distribution instead of the formal and narrative elements of the film. What happens, when the ‘clean’ historiography becomes messed up? To follow this question, I look at the Cinema of Transgression in its broader historical, cultural, and institutional structure and thus let it spill over its own limits. I examine the specifics of the New York downtown scene from the late 1970s to the early 1990s as well as the interlinking of film production with other artistic and scene activities such as performance, festival organization, magazine publication, and video distribution.

What emerges from my research is not only a more complex, multi-layered narrative of the Cinema of Transgression itself, but also an approach to treat films as part of diverse, often disorderly, elusive, and constantly changing configurations.

Fig. 1:
Screenshot from Mommy Mommy Where's My Brain (Jon Moritsugu, 1986), British Film Institute, 1986.
Fig. 2:
Screenshot from You Killed Me First (Richard Kern, 1985), Music Video Distributors, 1999.
Fig. 3:
Del Mar, Katrina: Zedd, Squeaky & Kembra Pfahler in War Is Menstrual Envy, 1992.

Profile

Marie Sophie Beckmann studied Media and Cultural Studies at the University of Düsseldorf and completed the M.A. program Curatorial Studies – Theory – History – Criticism at the Goethe University and the Städelschule, Staatliche Hochschule für Bildende Künste, Frankfurt (Academy of Fine Arts). From September 2017 until October 2020 she was a PhD candidate and research fellow in the Graduiertenkolleg “Configurations of Film” at the Goethe University, Frankfurt. Currently, she is an academic staff member in the Media Studies department at the Institute for Theater, Film, and Media Studies at the Goethe University.

As a writer and independent curator, Marie Sophie Beckmann focuses on contemporary film, video art, and feminist art practices. From January until June 2021 she is a curator in residence in the Residence NRW+ program in Munster.

 

beckmann[at]tfm.uni-frankfurt.de

Members

Menü Schließen
Marie Sophie Beckmann
Doktorand_In, erste Kohorte (2017-2020)

Spilling: The Stains of the Cinema of Transgression

Ich beschäftige ich mich mit einem Korpus von Filmen, die als Super 8 oder 16mm Produktionen in der disziplinübergreifenden und kollaborativ arbeitenden New Yorker Kunst- und Filmszene der 1980er Jahre entstanden sind und unter dem Namen Cinema of Transgression bekannt wurden. Wenngleich Museen, Institutionen und Archive mittlerweile Interesse an diesem Korpus gefunden haben, hat eine wissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung und eine kritische Reflexion bisher nicht stattgefunden. Was stattdessen in Kunst- und Filmdiskursen reproduziert wird ist das Narrativ einer subversiven Filmbewegung, deren oft sexuell explizite Inhalte und ‚billige‘ Produktionen sich über jegliche ästhetische und moralische Grenzen hinwegsetzen.

Ausgangsfrage meiner Arbeit war, wie sich dieses Narrativ umdeuten lässt, wenn der Blick statt auf die formalen und narrativen Elemente des Films auf die Produktions-, Ausstellungs- und Distributionsbedingungen gelegt wird, wenn die ‚gesäuberte‘ Geschichtsschreibung gewissermaßen durcheinandergebracht wird. Dafür betrachte ich das Cinema of Transgression in seinem breiteren historischen, kulturellen und institutionellen Gefüge und lasse es somit quasi über seine eigenen Grenzen hinaus laufen. Dafür erforsche ich die Spezifitäten der New Yorker Downtown Szene der späten 1970er bis frühen 1990er Jahre sowie die Verschränkung von Filmproduktion mit anderen künstlerischen und Szene-Aktivitäten wie Performance, Festivalorganisation, Magazinpublikation und Videodistribution.

Was sich durch die Ergebnisse meiner Forschung abbildet ist nicht nur ein komplexeres, vielschichtigeres Narrativ des Cinema of Transgression selbst sondern schlägt auch Ansätze vor, wie sich Film als Teil von vielfältigen, oft unordentlichen, schwer greifbaren und sich ständig wandelnden Konfigurationen lesen lässt.

Fig. 1:
Screenshot aus Mommy Mommy Where's My Brain (Jon Moritsugu, USA 1986), British Film Institute.
Fig. 2:
Screenshot aus You Killed Me First (Richard Kern, USA 1985), Music Video Distributors, 1999.
Fig. 3:
Katrina Del Mar: Zedd, Squeaky & Kembra Pfahler in War Is Menstrual Envy, 1992.

Profil

Marie Sophie Beckmann studierte Medien- und Kulturwissenschaft in Düsseldorf und schloss das Masterprogramm Curatorial Studies – Theorie – Geschichte – Kritik an der Goethe-Universität und der Städelschule, Staatliche Hochschule für Bildende Künste, in Frankfurt am Main ab. Von September 2017 bis Oktober 2020 war sie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Doktorandin im Graduiertenkolleg „Konfigurationen des Films“ an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt. Derzeit ist sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin in der Medienwissenschaft am Institut für Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft an der Goethe-Universität beschäftigt.

Als Autorin und unabhängige Kuratorin beschäftigt sich Marie Sophie Beckmann mit zeitgenössischem Film, Videokunst und feministischen Praktiken in der Kunst. Von Januar bis Juni 2021 ist sie kuratorische Stipendiatin der Residence NRW+ in Münster.

 

beckmann[at]tfm.uni-frankfurt.de

Mitglieder