Menu Close
Nicole Braida
Doctoral Candidate

Migrating through the Web

Migrating to the Web investigates how stories of migration are told and shaped in interactive web-based, non-fiction practices such as serious games, web documentaries and interactive maps. This project understands such media practices as a configuration of different elements that produce a specific “media ecology.” It proposes to approach case studies in terms of their aesthetic and convergent nature, but also their similarities in format or means of production and distribution. This analytical framework combines different disciplines, such as film and media studies, software studies, game studies, media economies, archival studies, format studies and migration studies.

Interactive practices, as computational objects made of code, imply a materiality not yet discussed in film and media studies. This research aims at understanding the implications of these practices for aesthetics, distribution, access and archival procedures, whose “regimes of transmission” (Grainge 2013) increase their ephemerality, instability and obsolescence, which might reveal their nature as commodities destined to become waste. To study interactive web-based, non-fiction practices from the perspective of migration studies means to trace patterns in the economic infrastructures of media, in the dramaturgy and in the aesthetics and materiality of a “new documentary ecology.” It also means understanding how key political figures, such as that of the migrant, are part of a larger media discourse that is central to power structures in a globalized world.

Fig. 1: Screenshot from Against All Odds (UNHCR, 2006).

Profile

Nicole Braida works at the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz and is currently a PhD candidate in the Graduiertenkolleg “Configurations of Film” at the Goethe University, Frankfurt. She studied in Italy, Germany and Belgium while completing her M.A. in Audiovisual and Cinema Studies (IMACS). She graduated in 2013 with a thesis on web documentaries. Her current research focuses on interactive web-based practices about human migration. In 2017, together with Alexandra Schneider and Marek Jancovic, she co-organized the international conference “Format Matters” at the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz.

 

braida[at]em.uni-frankfurt.de

Members

Menü Schließen
Nicole Braida
Doktorand_in

Migrating through the Web

Migrating through the Web untersucht, wie Migrationsgeschichten in interaktiven webbasierten Non-Fiction-Praktiken wie Serious Games, Web-Dokumentationen und interaktive Karten erzählt und gestaltet werden. Das Projekt versteht diese Medienpraktiken als eine Konfiguration verschiedener Elemente, die eine spezifische „Medienökologie“ erzeugen. Es wird vorgeschlagen die Fallstudien mit einer interdisziplinären Methodologie zu betrachten, wobei ihre ästhetische und konvergente Natur, aber auch ihre Ähnlichkeiten in Format oder Formen der Produktion und Distribution berücksichtigt werden. Dieser analytische Rahmen verbindet verschiedene Disziplinen wie Film- und Medienwissenschaften, aber auch Software-Studies, Game Studies, Medienökonomie, Archivstudien, Format Studies und Migrationsstudien.

Interaktive Praktiken als Computerobjekte aus Code implizieren eine Materialität, die in der Film- und Medienwissenschaft noch nicht diskutiert wird. Die Forschung zielt darauf ab, die Implikationen für Ästhetik, Distribution, Zugang und Archivierungsverfahren dieser Praktiken zu verstehen, deren „Regimes of transmission“ (Grainge 2013) ihre Vergänglichkeit, Instabilität und Obsoleszenz erhöhen, was ihre Natur als Ware enthüllt, die letztendlich zum Wegwerfen bestimmt ist. Interaktive Non-Fiction-Praktiken aus der Perspektive der Migration zu untersuchen, bedeutet, nicht nur Muster in der ökonomischen Infrastruktur von Medien, in der Dramaturgie, in der Ästhetik und Materialität einer „neuen dokumentarischen Ökologie“ zu verfolgen, sondern auch zu verstehen, wie wichtige politische Figuren wie „der Migrant“ Teil eines größeren Mediendiskurses sind. Dies ist zentral für das Verständnis von Machtstrukturen in einer globalisierten Welt.

Fig. 1: Screenshot aus Against All Odds (UNHCR, 2006).

Profil

Nicole Braida arbeitet an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz und ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Graduiertenkolleg „Konfigurationen des Films“ an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt. Sie studierte in Italien, Deutschland und Belgien als Teil eines Internationalen Masterstudiengangs in Film und audiovisuellen Medien (IMACS). Sie absolvierte in 2013 mit einer Masterarbeit zum Thema Webdokumentationen und ihr jetziges Forschungsprojekt fokussiert sich auf interaktive web-basierte Praktiken über Migration. 2017 organisierte sie zusammen mit Alexandra Schneider und Marek Jancovic die internationale Tagung „Format Matters“ an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz. 

 

braida[at]em.uni-frankfurt.de

Mitglieder