Menu Close
Alexander Stark
Doctoral candidate, first cohort (2017-2020)

“The filming baker’s wife” Elisabeth Wilms – Amateur film practices and/as useful cinema culture

In 1941 Elisabeth Wilms (1905-1981) discovered her passion for filmmaking. Wilms, who ran a bakery and a grocery store with her husband in Dortmund, started filming the daily life in her surroundings with a borrowed 16mm camera. She continued even after the widespread destruction of Dortmund in World War II, and in 1947/48 produced two commissioned films for the German charity organization Evangelisches Hilfswerk, which depict living conditions in the almost completely demolished city center. These two films were her first commissioned works, and what started out as a hobby became a successful business within a few years. In the following decades, Wilms was highly active in the field of useful cinema and produced films for a variety of customers and with the most diverse purposes. Among others, her oeuvre included industrial films, image films, and religious works. When she died in 1981, Wilms left more than one hundred films as well as a rich archive consisting of documents and personal records.

In my project, I took Wilms’s case as an example for the interconnections of amateur and commissioned film production in Germany during her period of filmmaking. I therefore studied her professionalization process from an autodidact amateur filmmaker to a successful author of commissioned films and her undetermined status in the gray area between amateur and professional filmmaking. I also examined the three fields of useful film production which played the biggest role in her career: charity films, promotional films for the City of Dortmund, and industrial film production. Lastly, I focussed on the role that her films play in the local commemorative culture of Dortmund.

The project was completed in March 2020 and defended in April 2020 at the Philipps-University Marburg. The publication is in preparation.

Profile

Alexander Stark studied Media and History at the University of Trier. From 2014 to 2017 he was a research associate in the project Advertising and the Transformation of Screen Cultures at the Department of Media Studies at the Philipps-University Marburg. He has given talks on the interconnections of amateur film and useful cinema at various international workshops and conferences, such as the symposium The Noisy Amateur Film (Bern, 2017), the workshop Amateurism – Professionalism – Pragmatism: Situating Film Practices (Gothenburg, 2017), the 11th Orphan Film Symposium (New York, 2018) and the conference Urban Layers – Rust Belt and the Ruhr (Dortmund and Cincinnati 2019/2020). Between September 2017 and May 2020 Alexander was a PhD candidate in the Graduiertenkolleg “Configurations of Film” at the Goethe University, Frankfurt. From June 2020 to August 2020 he had a Postdoc-position at Philipps University Marburg, which was funded by a stipend of the Graduiertenkolleg. Heis currently working on an application for a DFG-funded research project on the history of television advertising in the FRG and GDR.

 

alexander.stark[at]uni-marburg.de

Members

Menü Schließen
Alexander Stark
Doktorand_In, erste Kohorte (2017-2020)

"Die filmende Bäckersfrau" Elisabeth Wilms – Amateurfilmpraktiken und/als Gebrauchsfilmkultur

1941 entdeckte Elisabeth Wilms (1905-1981) ihre Leidenschaft für das Filmemachen. Wilms, die in Dortmund gemeinsam mit ihrem Mann eine Bäckerei mit angeschlossenem Lebensmittelgeschäft betrieb, begann mit einer geborgten 16mm-Kamera das tägliche Leben in ihrer Umgebung zu filmen. Sie machte auch weiter, nachdem der Zweite Weltkrieg in Dortmund schwere Schäden anrichtete und produzierte 1947/48 zwei Auftragsfilme für das Evangelische Hilfswerk, welche die Lebensumstände im fast vollständig zerstörten Stadtzentrum zeigen. Diese beiden Filme waren ihre ersten Schritte in den Bereich der Produktion von Auftragsfilmen, und was als Hobby begonnen hatte, wurde innerhalb weniger Jahre zu einem eigenständigen, erfolgreichen Geschäft. In den folgenden Jahrzehnten war Elisabeth Wilms höchst aktiv im Bereich des Gebrauchsfilms und produzierte Filme für die unterschiedlichsten Auftraggeber und die verschiedensten Zwecke. In ihrem Oeuvre finden sich unter anderem Industriefilme, Imagefilme sowie religiös motivierte Arbeiten. Mit ihrem Tod im Jahr 1981 hinterließ Elisabeth Wilms mehr als einhundert Filme sowie einen reichhaltigen Archivbestand, der aus geschäftsbezogenen und privaten Unterlagen besteht.

In meinem Projekt habe ich Wilms‘ Fall als Beispiel für die Verknüpfungen von Amateur- und Gebrauchsfilmproduktion in Deutschland in den Jahrzehnten ihrer aktiven Schaffenszeit herangezogen. Dementsprechend habe ich ihren Professionalisierungsprozess von einer autodidaktischen Amateurfilmerin hin zu einer erfolgreichen Produzentin von Auftragsfilmen, sowie ihren unbestimmten Status in der Grauzone zwischen Amateurdasein und professionellem Filmschaffen erforscht. Zudem habe ich jene drei Felder der Gebrauchsfilmproduktion untersucht, die die größte Rolle in ihrer Karriere spielten: Wohltätigkeitsfilme, Imagefilme für die Stadt Dortmund sowie Industriefilme. Zuletzt habe ich auch auf die Rolle ihrer Filme in der lokalen Dortmunder Erinnerungskultur fokussiert.

Das Projekt wurde im März 2020 abgeschlossen und im April 2020 an der Philipps-Universität Marburg verteidigt. Die Publikation befindet sich in der Vorbereitung.

 

Profil

Alexander Stark studierte Medienwissenschaft und Geschichte an der Universität Trier. Von 2014 bis 2017 war er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Drittmittelprojekt Advertising and the Transformation of Screen Cultures am Institut für Medienwissenschaft der Philipps-Universität Marburg. Er hat auf verschiedenen internationalen Workshops und Konferenzen Vorträge zu den Verknüpfungen von Amateur- und Gebrauchsfilmproduktion gehalten, wie beispielsweise dem Symposium Der klingende Amateurfilm (Bern, 2017), dem Workshop Amateurism – Professionalism – Pragmatism: Situating Film Practices (Göteborg, 2017), dem 11th Orphan Film Symposium (New York, 2018) sowie der Konferenz Urban Layers –Rust Belt and the Ruhr (Dortmund und Cincinnati 2019/2020). Von September 2017 bis Mai 2020 war Alexander wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand im Graduiertenkolleg „Konfigurationen des Films“ an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt. Anschließend war er von Juni bis August 2020 im Rahmen einer Anschubförderung des Graduiertenkollegs als Postdoc an der Philipps-Universität Marburg angestellt und arbeitet derzeit an einem Antrag für ein DFG-gefördertes Drittmittelprojekt zur Geschichte der Fernsehwerbung in der BRD und der DDR.

 

alexander.stark[at]uni-marburg.de

Mitglieder