Menu Close
Laura Teixeira
Doctoral candidate, second cohort (2020-2023)

Videobrasil – Decolonizing Moving Image Art

This dissertation project aims to shed light on the particularities of presenting, archiving, and theorizing moving image art in the Global South. One paradigmatic example of recent developments in this field is the Contemporary Art Biennial Sesc_Videobrasil, organized by the cultural association Videobrasil in São Paulo, Brazil. What started in 1983 as a national festival showing mostly VHS und U-Matic videotapes gradually transformed into its current format of an international art biennial that is open to works produced in all possible media. Over the course of this development, Videobrasil also prioritized partnerships with other players from the “South” in what could be seen as a “parallel circuit” to the hegemonic art world established in western Europe and the USA.

In order to fully grasp and analyze the specificities of Videobrasil and its partners, I intend to expand the existing debate around the new configurations of film in the context of contemporary art using postcolonial analytical frameworks. Different approaches, like the decolonial shift or the localization of hybrid cultures, will be helpful to understand the aesthetic, social, and political negotiations at stake in dealing with moving image art around the globe today.

Fig. 1:
Dana Awartani, I Went Away and Forgot You. A While Ago I Remembered. I Remembered I’d Forgotten You. I Was Dreaming, 2017, installation: sand, natural pigment and video (22’, no sound). Exhibition view at 21st Contemporary Art Biennial SESC_Videobrasil. Photo: Laura Teixeira, January 2020.
Fig. 2:
Mônica Nador & Bruno Oliveira, Dando bandeira, 2019, digital print on fabric. Exhibition view at 21st Contemporary Art Biennial SESC_Videobrasil. Photo: Laura Teixeira, January 2020.
Fig. 3:
Ana Carvalho, Ariel Kuaray Ortega, Fernando Ancil & Patrícia Para Yxapy, Jeguatá - caderno de viagem, 2018. Installation: videos and objects. Exhibition view at 21st Contemporary Art Biennial SESC_Videobrasil. Photo: Laura Teixeira, January 2020.

Profile

Laura Teixeira is an art and film curator based in Frankfurt, having worked in institutions such as the Museum MMK für Moderne Kunst and the DFF – Deutsches Filminstitut & Filmmuseum, where she has been organizing the Lecture&Film series with Prof. Vinzenz Hediger since 2017. She also curates the film festival Días de Cine, focused on contemporary Latin-American cinema. She earned her bachelor’s degree in film studies at the Federal University of São Carlos in her home country of Brazil before following with a master’s degree in Médiation Culturelle in the University of Liège, Belgium. Already in Germany, she followed a second master’s program in curatorial studies at Städelschule and Goethe University before joining the Graduiertenkolleg “Configurations of Film” as a PhD candidate in July 2020.

 

teixeira[at]tfm.uni-frankfurt.de

Members

Menü Schließen
Laura Teixeira
Doktorand_In, zweite Kohorte (2020-2023)

Videobrasil – Decolonizing Moving Image Art

Ziel dieses Dissertationsprojektes ist es, die Besonderheiten der Präsentation, Archivierung und Theoretisierung von Bewegtbildkunst im globalen Süden zu beleuchten. Ein paradigmatisches Beispiel für die jüngsten Entwicklungen in diesem Bereich ist die Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst Sesc_Videobrasil, die vom Kulturverein Videobrasil in São Paulo, Brasilien, organisiert wird. Was 1983 als nationales Festival begann, bei dem vor allem VHS- und U-Matic-Videobänder gezeigt wurden, wandelte sich allmählich zu seinem heutigen Format einer internationalen Kunstbiennale, die für Werke in allen möglichen Medien offen ist. Im Zuge dieser Entwicklung setzte Videobrasil auch auf Partnerschaften mit anderen Akteuren aus dem „Süden“, in einer Art „parallelen Netzwerk“ zur hegemonialen Kunstwelt aus Westeuropa und den USA.

Um die Eigenheiten von Videobrasil und seinen Partnern vollständig zu erfassen und zu analysieren, beabsichtige ich, die bestehende Debatte um die neuen Konfigurationen des Films im Kontext der Gegenwartskunst um postkoloniale Analyserahmen zu erweitern. Verschiedene Ansätze, wie Dekolonisierung oder Lokalisierung hybrider Kulturen, werden hilfreich sein, um die ästhetischen, sozialen und politischen Auseinandersetzungen zu verstehen, die den Umgang mit Bewegtbildkunst heute weltweit prägen.

Fig. 1:
Dana Awartani, I Went Away and Forgot You. A While Ago I Remembered. I Remembered I’d Forgotten You. I Was Dreaming, 2017, installation: sand, natural pigment and video (22’, no sound). Exhibition view at 21st Contemporary Art Biennial SESC_Videobrasil. Photo: Laura Teixeira, January 2020.
Fig. 2:
Mônica Nador & Bruno Oliveira, Dando bandeira, 2019, digital print on fabric. Exhibition view at 21st Contemporary Art Biennial SESC_Videobrasil. Photo: Laura Teixeira, January 2020.
Fig. 3:
Ana Carvalho, Ariel Kuaray Ortega, Fernando Ancil & Patrícia Para Yxapy, Jeguatá - caderno de viagem, 2018. Installation: videos and objects. Exhibition view at 21st Contemporary Art Biennial SESC_Videobrasil. Photo: Laura Teixeira, January 2020.

Profil

Laura Teixeira ist Film- und Kunst-Kuratorin in Frankfurt am Main, wo sie bisher im Museum MMK für Moderne Kunst und im DFF – Deutsches Filminstitut & Filmmuseum tätig war. Im DFF organisiert sie seit 2017 die Lecture&Film-Reihe zusammen mit Prof. Vinzenz Hediger. Zudem kuratiert sie das Programm von Días de Cine – Lateinamerikanisches Filmfest. Nach einem B.A. in Filmwissenschaft an der Federal University of São Carlos in ihrer Heimat Brasilien kam sie nach Belgien und schloss dort ihren M.A. in Médiation Culturelle an der University of Liège mit einer Masterarbeit über Filmfestivals ab. In Deutschland machte sie ein zweites Masterstudium (Curatorial Studies an der Goethe Universität und Städelschule), bevor sie im Juli 2020 dem Graduiertenkolleg „Konfigurationen des Films“ als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin beitrat.

 

teixeira[at]tfm.uni-frankfurt.de

Mitglieder