Menu Close
Sema Çakmak
Doctoral candidate, second cohort (2020-2023)

Lubunya: Film Screenings as Spaces of Political Activism and Identity Building in Turkey’s LGBTI+ Community

In the mid ‘90s the two major LGBTI+ organizations in Turkey, Lambda Istanbul and Kaos GL, organized collegiate events at different universities to raise awareness of LGBTI+ issues by exposing multiple discourses of gender and sexuality. Discussions, readings, and most notably the film screenings of foreign-language, American films helped to form a collective identity for the Turkish LGBTI+ community and to mobilize them politically.

The dissertation project examines how these campus film screenings became a tool of political activism. Is it possible for cinematic spaces to turn into political-pedagogical spaces of identity and community building, thus becoming an active part of the political fight for acceptance and equal rights? What problems arise when the western image of LGBTI+ identity is transferred uncritically into a country like Turkey that is torn between modernity and tradition, and heavily heteronormative despite its own history of open discourses about homosexuality? How did this “westernized” LGBTI+ identity have an influence on Turkish queer cinema today? Might there even be a development of a specific Turkish “queerness”/queer identity,” e.g. Lubunca, the Turkish slang of gay people? Can the Queer Film Festival in Turkey Pembe Hayat Kuir Fest, which has been taking place annually since 2011, be considered a continuation of the activist student film screenings?

Fig. 1:
Screenshot from Zenne Dancer (M. Caner Alper, 2011), last accessed July 14, 2020.
Fig. 2:
LGBT campaigners protesting the ban of Gay Pride in Istanbul, The Independent, last accessed July 14, 2020.
Fig. 3:
Popular drag artist TV star Huysuz Virjin putting a traditional chastity belt on a singer, Izlesene, last accessed July 14, 2020.

Profile

Sema Çakmak is a PhD candidate in the Graduiertenkolleg “Configurations of Film” at the Goethe University, Frankfurt. She studied theater and media studies, and French studies at the Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen-Nürnberg and cinema studies at the University Aix-Marseille. She graduated in the International Program in Audiovisual and Cinema Studies (IMACS) and completed her M.A. at the Goethe University, Frankfurt, the University Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3, and the University of Liège. Her main research interests are queer cinema, festival studies and political film cultures.

 

cakmak[at]tfm.uni-frankfurt.de

Members

Menü Schließen
Sema Çakmak
Doktorand_In, zweite Kohorte (2020-2023)

Lubunya. Filmsichtungen als Orte des politischen Aktivismus und der Identitätsbildung in der LGBTI+ Community der Türkei

Ab Mitte der 90er Jahre fanden mit Unterstützung der zwei wichtigsten LGBTI+ Organisationen der Türkei Lambda Istanbul und Kaos GL Ankara studentische Veranstaltungen an verschiedenen Universitäten statt, die zur Sensibilisierung über LGBTI+ Problematiken dienten und Gender- und Sexualitätsdiskurse sichtbar machten. Neben Diskussionen und Lesungen spielten besonders Filmsichtungen, von vorrangig westlichen, amerikanischen Filmen, für die politische Mobilisierung und die Identitätskonstruktion der LGBTI+ Community in der Türkei eine wichtige Rolle.

Das Dissertationsprojekt untersucht inwieweit Filmsichtungen zum politischen Aktivismus genutzt wurden. Können filmische Räume politisch-pädagogische Orte der Identitäts-, Communitybildung darstellen und somit ein Teil des politischen Kampfs nach gesellschaftlicher Akzeptanz werden? Welche Problematiken entstehen bei der unreflektierten Übertragung der Vorstellung einer westlichen LGBTI+ Identität auf einen zwischen Modernität und Tradition gespaltenem und trotz existenter Diskurse zur Gleichgeschlechtlichkeit im Osmanischen Reich, heute stark heteronormativem Kulturraum wie die Türkei? Wie wirkt sich der Einfluss dieser „verwestlichten“ LGBTI+ Identität auf die heutige Filmpraxis des türkischen Queer Cinemas aus? Hat sich nicht vielleicht sogar eine spezifisch türkische „Queerness“/queere Identität entwickelt, wie es beispielsweise der von homosexuellen Menschen verwendete türkische Slang Lubunca aufweist. Zudem wird auch diskutiert, ob das seit 2011 jährlich stattfindende erste Queer Film Festival der Türkei Pembe Hayat Kuir Fest als eine Weiterführung der aktivistischen, studentischen Filmsichtungen betrachtet werden kann.

 

Fig. 1:
Screenshot aus Zenne Dancer (M. Caner Alper, 2011) entnommen aus YouTube, zuletzt aufgerufen am 14. Juli 2020.
Fig. 2:
LGBT Demonstranten protestieren den Verbot der Gay Pride in Istanbul, The Independent, zuletzt aufgerufen am 14. Juli 2020.
Fig. 3:
Beliebter Travestiekünstler TV-Star Huysuz Virjin legt einer Sängerin die traditionelle Keuschheitsschleife an, Izlesene, zuletzt aufgerufen am 14. Juli 2020.

Profil

Sema Çakmak ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Graduiertenkolleg „Konfigurationen des Films“ an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt. Im Bachelor studierte sie Theater- und Medienwissenschaft und Frankoromanistik an der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg und Filmwissenschaft an der Université Aix-Marseille. Sie erhielt ihr M.A. im internationalen Masterprogramm Film und audiovisuelle Medien (IMACS) an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt, Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3, Université de Liège. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Queer Cinema, Avant-Garde und der politische Film.

 

cakmak[at]tfm.uni-frankfurt.de

Mitglieder