Menu Close
Joshua Simon: Metastability
05.02.2020 • 19:00
MUSEUM MMK FÜR MODERNE KUNST, MUSEUM MMK, Domstraße 10

2018 might be remembered as the year of graphic cards shortage. The price for the cards soared since the beginning of that year, parallel to the price of Bitcoin and other crypto-currencies. Their strong processing capabilities made graphic cards an ideal tool for amateur crypto-mining. Interestingly enough, the graphic card is usually used for rendering visual plans and programs (from architectural plans to videogames), but here it was used for something that has no visual presence as far as human vision is considered. This is a telling example of where power is today – unattainable by the human eye. Therefore, we who are working in the field of the visual, are compelled to renegotiate our understanding of vision and power. In this talk, we will look at the exhibition as a model which assesses relations. Working towards a book titled Metastability, Simon’s talk will explore the knowledge produced by contemporary art curatorial practices, asking what kind of relations and connections are available in contemporary art curating and how those operate in relation to the world.

 

The talk will be followed by responses from Prof. Antonio Somaini (Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3) and Dr. Laliv Melamed (Goethe University, Frankfurt) and a subsequent discussion with the audience.

 

Joshua Simon, curator and author. Former director and chief curator at MoBY-Museums of Bat Yam (2012- 2017), currently visiting critic and lecturer at the Master of Fine Arts program at University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia. Co-founding editor of the Tel Aviv-Jaffa based Maayan publishing. Author of Neomaterialism (Sternberg Press, 2013), and editor of Being Together Precedes Being: A Textbook for The Kids Want Communism (Archive Books, 2019), among others. Recent curatorial projects include Second Nature (International Photography Festival, Tel Aviv 2017), and In The Liquid (PrintScreen Media Art Festival, Holon 2018). Simon holds a PhD from the Visual Cultures department, Goldsmiths College, University of London, UK.

 

Antonio Somaini is Professor of Film, Media, and Visual Culture Theory at the Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3, where he is also Chair of the Department of Film and Media Studies. Among his recent publications: the book Cultura visuale. Immagini, sguardi, media, dispositivi [Visual Culture: Images, Gazes, Media, Dispositives] (Turin: Einaudi, 2016, together with Andrea Pinotti), the English edition of Sergei Eisenstein’s Notes for a General History of Cinema (Amsterdam: Amsterdam University Press, 2016, together with Naum Kleiman), and the French edition of Dziga Vertov’s writings (Le Ciné-Œil de la Révolution. Écrits sur le cinéma, ed. by François Albera, Antonio Somaini, Irina Tcherneva, Dijon: Les Presses du réel, 2019).

 

Laliv Melamed holds a PhD with distinction from the Department of Cinema Studies, New York University, and is currently a postdoc at the DFG funded Graduiertenkolleg “Konfigurationen des Films” at Goethe University, Frankfurt. Melamed has published extensively in English and Hebrew on topics of non-fiction media and art, Israel-Palestine and memory everyday media practices. She is the author of Sovereign Intimacy: Israeli Homemade Memorial Videos and the Politics of Loss (forthcoming) and the co-editor of Screen Memory, a special issue of the International Journal of Politics, Culture, and Society (2013) and Ways of Organizing: Documentary Staples, a special issue of World Records (2018). Her current research is tentatively titled: Politics of the Secret: The Cultural Life of the Operative Image. In addition to her academic work Melamed is a film programmer at DocAviv Film Festival, she was a member of the curatorial team of the activist organization Zochrot and is a regular contributor to the Left Bank Cinema Club in Tel Aviv.

 

In cooperation with MUSEUM MMK FÜR MODERNE KUNST

Fig. 1:
Noa Yafe, Double Perspective II, 2014, c-print, 80x60 cm, courtesy of the artist and Raw Art Gallery, Tel Aviv.
Kolleg events

Menü Schließen
Joshua Simon: Metastability
05.02.2020 • 19:00
MUSEUM MMK FÜR MODERNE KUNST, MUSEUM MMK, Domstraße 10

2018 könnte als das Jahr des Grafikkartenmangels in Erinnerung bleiben. Der Preis für Grafikkarten stieg seit Anfang des Jahres parallel zum Preis von Bitcoin und anderen Kryptowährungen. Ihre starken Verarbeitungsfähigkeiten machten Grafikkarten zu einem idealen Werkzeug für das Amateur-Crypto-Mining. Normalerweise wird die Grafikkarte zum Rendern von visuellen Plänen und Programmen (von Architekturplänen bis zu Videospielen) verwendet, aber hier wurde sie für etwas verwendet, das keine visuelle Präsenz aufweist, soweit es menschliche Sehen berücksichtigt. Dies ist ein anschauliches Beispiel für die gegenwärtige Verortung von Macht – für das menschliche Auge unerreichbar. Daher sind wir, die wir auf dem Gebiet des Visuellen arbeiten, gezwungen, unser Verständnis von Sehen und Macht neu zu verhandeln. In diesem Vortrag betrachten wir die Ausstellung als Modell, das Zusammenhänge bewertet. In seinem Vortrag untersucht Joshua Simon die Produktion von Wissen, wie es durch kuratorische Praktiken zeitgenössischer Kunst gewonnen wurde, und fragt nach den Beziehungen und Zusammenhängen gegenwärtigen Kunstkuratierens und wie diese im Verhältnis zur Welt operieren.

 

Der Vortrag findet in englischer Sprache statt. Dem Vortrag folgt eine Diskussionsrunde mit Prof. Antonio Somaini (Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3) und Dr. Laliv Melamed (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt).

 

Joshua Simon ist Kurator und Autor. Von 2012 bis 2017 war er Leiter und Chefkurator an den MoBY-Museen von Bat Yam, derzeit ist er als Gastkritiker und Dozent am Master of Fine Arts-Programm der University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, tätig. Er ist Mitbegründer des Maayan-Verlags in Tel Aviv-Jaffa und Autor von Neomaterialism (Sternberg Press, 2013) und Herausgeber von Being Together Precedes Being: A Textbook for The Kids Want Communism (Archive Books, 2019). Zu den jüngsten kuratorischen Projekten zählen Second Nature (Internationales Fotofestival, Tel Aviv 2017) und In The Liquid (PrintScreen Media Art Festival, Holon 2018). Simon hat an der Abteilung für visuelle Kulturen des Goldsmiths College der University of London promoviert.

Antonio Somaini ist Professor für Film-, Medien- und Bildkulturtheorie an der Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3, wo er auch den Lehrstuhl für Film- und Medienwissenschaft innehat. Zu seinen jüngsten Veröffentlichungen zählt das Buch Cultura visuale. Immagini, sguardi, media, dispositivi (Turin: Einaudi, 2016, zusammen mit Andrea Pinotti), die englische Ausgabe von Sergei Eisensteins Notes for a General History of Cinema (Amsterdam: Amsterdam University Press, 2016, zusammen mit Naum Kleiman) und die französische Ausgabe von Dziga Vertovs Schriften (Le Ciné-Œil de la Révolution. hrsg. von François Albera, Antonio Somaini, Irina Tcherneva, Dijon: Les Presses du réel 2019).

 

Laliv Melamed promovierte am Department of Cinema Studies der New York University und ist derzeit Postdoc am DFG-geförderten Graduiertenkolleg „Konfigurationen des Films“ der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt. Melamed hat umfangreich auf Englisch und Hebräisch zu Themen wie nichtfiktionalen Medien und Kunst, Israel-Palästina und alltägliche Medienpraktiken veröffentlicht. Sie ist Autorin von Sovereign Intimacy: Israeli Homemade Memorial Videos und der Politik des Verlusts (in Vorbereitung) und Mitherausgeberin von Screen Memory, einer Sonderausgabe des International Journal of Politics, Culture and Society (2013) und Ways of Organizing : Documentary Staples, eine Sonderausgabe von World Records (2018). Ihre aktuelle Forschung trägt den vorläufigen Titel Politics of the Secret: The Cultural Life of the Operative Image. Neben ihrer akademischen Arbeit ist Melamed Filmprogrammiererin beim DocAviv Filmfestival. Sie war Mitglied des Kuratorenteams der Aktivistenorganisation Zochrot und schreibt regelmäßig Beiträge für den Left Bank Cinema Club in Tel Aviv.

 

In Kooperation mit MUSEUM MMK FÜR MODERNE KUNST

Fig. 1:
Noa Yafe, Double Perspective II, 2014, c-print, 80x60 cm, courtesy of the artist and Raw Art Gallery, Tel Aviv.
Kollegveranstaltungen