Menu Close
Jan Mollenhauer
Doctoral Candidate

Spectral Montage: (Sending/Invisibile images)

My project is organized around 8 pictures, made by and depicting African-American soldiers in the recently liberated concentration camp of Buchenwald. My research focuses on three questions:

Through and along these photos, it possible to extend a narrative from a “visual culture of lynching” (L. Hentschel) via John Ford’s Sergeant Rutledge (1960), Skip Norman’s Blues People (1969), Edward Kienholz’s Five Car Stud (1972/2011/2016), up to Michael Rothberg’s “multidirectional memory” (2009)?

What are the correspondences in the different representations, but also the continuities concerning media operations (sending/making visible)?

How can my own gesture of assembling and montage be conceptualized in a framework of cultural history and media studies?

Postcards of lynchings circulated among whites, but also among African Americans between 1877 and the 1950s. They haunt the theater, early pornography, cinema. Recently, these cards’ afterlives reemerged: in the context of discussions around Sam Durant’s piece Scaffold, Dana Schutz’s Open Casket, and the opening of the National Memorial for Peace and Justice in Alabama.

 

Fig. 1: William Alexander Scott, III. African American Soldier at Buchenwald, April 1945, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Signatur #87661.

Fig. 2: Postcard from “Aunt Myrtle,” in: Allen, James (ed.): Without Sanctuary. Lynching Photography in America, Santa Fe/NM: Twin Palms, 2000, o.P. (Plate 55).

Fig. 3: Sergeant Rutledge (John Ford, USA 1960), trailer, YouTube.

Profile

Jan Mollenhauer is a PhD candidate in the Graduiertenkolleg “Configurations of Film” at the Goethe University Frankfurt. During the summer of 2017, Jan Mollenhauer was Research Fellow at the research group “Cultural History and Theory of Aesthetics” at the Humboldt University of Berlin. He has presented at numerous national and international conferences. In 2017, he received scholarships from the Humboldt Graduate School and the Getty Research Institute.

 

mollenhauer[at]tfm.uni-frankfurt.de

Members

Menü Schließen
Jan Mollenhauer
Doktorand_in

Spektrale Montage. (Senden/Sichtbarmachen)

Meine Dissertation ist um 8 Bilder herum organisiert, die afroamerikanische Soldaten der segregierten US-Armee im kurz vorher befreiten Konzentrationslager Buchenwald von sich gemacht haben.

Im Fokus meiner Untersuchungen stehen drei Fragen:

Lässt sich durch die Fotos von 1945 eine Geschichte erzählen, die von der „visuellen Kultur des Lynchings“ (L. Hentschel) über John Fords Sergeant Rutledge (1960), Skip Normans Blues People (1969), Edward Kienholz’ Five Car Stud (1972/2011/2016) bis zu Michael Rothbergs „multidirectional memory“ (2009) reicht? 

Welche Korrespondenzen in den verschiedenen Repräsentationen und vor allem welche Kontinuitäten medialer Operationen (Senden/Sichtbarmachen) lassen sich beobachten?

Wie kann meine Geste des Versammelns und Montierens kultur- und medienwissenschaftlich konzeptionalisiert werden?

Zwischen 1877 und den 1950er Jahren zirkulieren sowohl in weißen wie auch in afroamerikanischen Communities Postkarten von Lynchmobs, die auch Theater, Kino, frühe Pornographie heimsuchen. In jüngerer Zeit bekommen die Karten neue Virulenz im Kontext der Diskussionen um Sam Durants Plastik Scaffold, Dana Schutz’ Open Casket und der Eröffnung des National Memorial for Peace and Justice in Alabama. 

 

Fig. 1: William Alexander Scott, III, African American Soldier at Buchenwald, April 1945, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Signatur #87661.

Fig. 2: Postkarte von „Tante Myrtle“, in: Allen, James (Hg.): Without Sanctuary. Lynching Photography in America, Santa Fe/NM: Twin Palms, 2000, o.P. (Plate 55).

Fig. 3: Sergeant Rutledge (Regie: John Ford, USA 1960), Trailer, YouTube.

Profil

Jan Mollenhauer ist derzeit wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Graduiertenkolleg „Konfigurationen des Films“ an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt. Zuvor war er im Sommersemester 2017 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehr- und Forschungsbereich Kulturtheorie und Kulturwissenschaftliche Ästhetik am Institut für Kulturwissenschaft der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Er sprach auf zahlreichen deutschsprachigen und internationalen Tagungen. 2017 erhielt Jan Mollenhauer zudem Stipendien der Humboldt Graduate School und des Getty Research Institute.

 

mollenhauer[at]tfm.uni-frankfurt.de

Mitglieder